The Humanist runs an advice column and this may be my favorite question yet:
If Catholics truly believe that the substances used in communion are the body and blood of Christ, can there be such a thing as a vegan or vegetarian Catholic? My mother thinks I’m stupid for even thinking about this but I want to hear someone else’s opinion.
It turns out there are vegan-friendly wafers and wine — success! — but if you actually believe Catholic doctrine, then taking Communion would technically mean you’re eating an animal product and the actual ingredients wouldn’t matter.
Maybe some vegan/vegetarian Catholics can clarify for us in the comments how they handle this…
(Image via Shutterstock)